Gals Holiday Ornament Exchange

Happy Monday! And happy Christmas week!

On Saturday I hosted a form of Tommy and my annual holiday party tradition. As mentioned before, since we moved to D.C. in 2006 I (when I lived with roommates my first year in this area) and then we (when Tommy and I moved in together in 2007) have always hosted a holiday gathering of some sort every December. The format and kind of party has changed from year-to-year as mentioned here, and as demonstrated last year we’ve pushed our bash a couple of months out (remember our “winter wonderland themed housewarming party earlier this year?) Read: Instead of having a holiday party in December last year when we were moving into our new house, we decided to have a big housewarming party in February 2014.

This year I really, really, really wanted to do something for the holidays but I had promised Tommy and my mom (and my body and future daughter) that I would start to take things bit easier since the last few months have been pretty busy and stressful with work, travel, and all kinds of personal engagements. My compromise to all involved was that while I would still play “hostess with the mostess” this holiday party wouldn’t be as big of a production as years past – hence a small, intimate gals ornament exchange!

To lighten the load even less I provided the savory bites (courtesy of Costco) and asked guests to bring a sweet treat to share with everyone! This was the first party I have ever hosted where I didn’t make anything (except a delicious sangria recipe which I will share below), but I will say it took a lot of stress and work off my shoulders!

The concept:

In addition to asking guests to bring a sweet treat, each lady was asked to bring a wrapped ornament totaling no more than $10. During the party we would do a white elephant gift exchange with the ornaments and at the end of it, everyone would leave with a new, shiny ornament to hang on their trees or around their homes!

The food:

  • Artichoke, Spinach and Parmesan dip + chips (courtesy of Costco)

IMG_0227

  • Pigs in Blankets (courtesy of Costco)

    IMG_0228
  • Mini Quiches (Florentine and Cheese) (courtesy of Costco)

IMG_0229

Some of the sweets guests brought:

  • Gingerbread Cupcakes

FullSizeRender (1)

FullSizeRender (2)

  • Fudge brownies

FullSizeRender

Not pictured: delicious Christmas bark

The drinks:

IMG_0230

Cute holiday place card holders I used to display what food and drinks were being served – little ornaments!

IMG_0233

The Party Favors:

  • Sweet treats from a local Chesapeake Beach bakery, Sweet Sue’s.

IMG_0225

Here is a picture of the ornament I ended up with at the end of the party – it’s from Hawaii!

FullSizeRender (3)The one candid photo I was able to take during the party!

IMG_0231

Thanks to everyone who came out! Hope you all had fun. I sure did! Until next year. 🙂

QUESTION:

Do you like hosting holiday parties?

1 Comment

Filed under Holidays, Life in Chesapeake Beach

One response to “Gals Holiday Ornament Exchange

  1. Pingback: Holiday Party 2015 Recap | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

