Interesting Blog Post – Old Wives’ Tales Debunked

I follow a blog, Cupcakes and Cashmere, and I found this past Tuesday’s post very interesting and timely to my life as well! The blogger, Emily, compared her current pregnancy to a few old wives’ tales regarding pregnancy to see how they stacked up with her experience being pregnant. Wikiepdia says old wives’ tales are an epithet used to indicate that a supposed truth is actually a superstition or something untrue, to be ridiculed.

I wanted to play along!

1) Old Wives’ Tale #1: Take off your wedding ring, tie it to a piece of string, and hang it over your belly. If it swings back and forth it’s a girl. If it swings in a circular motion, it’s a boy.

The first time I tried this with Tommy holding the string nothing happened – my wedding ring didn’t move at all. The second time I did it holding the string my ring turned in more of a circular motion. Result: It’s a boy?

2) Old Wives’ Tale #2: A linea nigra is a dark line that may appear during pregnancy that extends the length of your belly. The old wives’ tale states that if your line runs from your pubic area to your belly button it’s a girl. If it goes past the belly button and towards the top of your stomach, then it’s a boy.

I don’t appear to have this said dark line. Result: Undecided.

3)  Old Wives’ Tale #3: A healthier head of hair means that you are carrying a boy. If you’re thinning, you’re having a girl.

 My hair is just as thick and long as ever and I still constantly shed everywhere. Result: It’s a boy.
4) Old Wives’ Tale #4: If a partner gains a noticeable amount of sympathy weight, it’s a girl. If they remain stable, prepare for a boy.
The jury is kind of out on this one. Tommy says we should wait until April when Ava is born to decide this. His rationale: He put on some normal holiday weight (he claims it had nothing to do with my pregnancy, lol) but now he has a brand new workout schedule – works out every morning before work – (and job to boot!) so he is slimming down. Result: Undecided.
5) Old Wives’ Tale #5: It’s going to be a little girl if you are craving sweets, while salty and sour cravings indicate a boy.
 I never craved or even wanted sweet things before I was pregnant. The fact that I do crave and want sweet things almost every day (ice cream, candy, cookies) is probably the biggest change I’ve noticed with Ava. Result: It’s a girl.
6) Old Wives’ Tale #6: Abrupt bouts of crying means that I’m having a girl (thank you bonus hormones).
Generally and normally I am a very emotional person. Since I have been pregnant Tommy and I haven’t noticed my being over emotional. I also haven’t had any bouts of crying, abrupt or not. Result: It’s a boy.
8) Old Wives’ Tale #8: Dry skin means I’m having a boy. Soft, supple skin is a sure sign that I’m having a girl.
My skin is SO DRY. Result: It’s a Boy.
Tally:
Girl: 2
Boy: 4
Undecided: 2
Well, we all know I am having a girl so….:-)
Hope you have a great weekend!
Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Chesapeake Beach

Leave a Reply

