Dallas Baby Shower Recap

Good morning and Happy Monday folks!

I am back from a whirlwind, but amazing, fun and touching weekend in Dallas with my mom. As I mentioned on Friday, she and I were headed to Dallas this weekend for my (Ava’s) Dallas baby shower that my dear friend Katie was hosting at her house, and co-hosting with several of my other close friends. As you will see in the, several, photos below (I really was judicious it what photos I put up here I promise!) it was such a beautiful shower and really meant a lot to me that all  this planning, coordinating, and executing went towards this shower to welcome my daughter into this world.

On Saturday morning before the shower, mom and I had breakfast at a nearby Corner Bakery before we ran a few errands.

FullSizeRender (15)

We both got the Anaheim Panini – freshly scrambled eggs, applewood smoked bacon, tomatoes, green onions, avocado and cheddar cheese on grilled sourdough. Hit the spot!

Before we knew it, it was time to head over to Katie’s house. We had offered to get there a little early to help set up and just soak everything in.

FullSizeRender

The gifts table with Katie’s fantastic diaper cake creation!

FullSizeRender (1)

Katie did such a fantastic job with all of the flower arrangements. I personally love flowers so the fact that she had put together so many arrangements around her house was so nice to see and smell. 🙂

FullSizeRender (3)

A side table arrangement.

FullSizeRender (4)

The entrance table to Katie’s house.

The food spread was incredible. The shower began at 1pm so in addition to some delicious treats offered, there was a lovely lunch-themed spread if you will that included various kinds of sandwiches, cheeses and crackers, veggies, and salad.

Super cute cookies Katie ordered.

Super cute cookies Katie ordered.

My friend Christina's famous Coconut Cupcakes with handmade flower toppers and Fairy toppers.

My friend Christina’s famous Coconut Cupcakes with handmade flower toppers and Fairy toppers.

FullSizeRender (5)

Scrumptious homemade sandwiches including, Caprese and Caprese & Prosciutto sandwiches.

FullSizeRender (13)

Just part of the overall food spread.

FullSizeRender (6)

The non-alcoholic drink station. (To the left – not pictured- was the Mimosa station).

Now for the “people picture” part of the shower!

FullSizeRender (9)

My amazing co-hosts and me.

IMG_0406

My mom and me.

FullSizeRender (8)

I just love these ladies so much. So blessed to have them in my life. (Hard to believe I have been friends with them for 14-15 years!)

FullSizeRender (10)

Katie explaining how a baby shower game will work in conjunction with my opening presents. People had to use a roll of crepe paper to determine how big my stomach was!

FullSizeRender (11)

Some of the Mahoney clan at the shower (my dad’s side). My aunts Jackie and Kim attended, along with one of my cousin’s Stephanie.

FullSizeRender (12)

My (sorority) little sisters and me.

FullSizeRender (14)

Christina wanted to touch the bump!

IMG_0423

LOVE her (and the diaper cake). Katie was definitely the hostess with the mostess.

IMG_0428

Later that night, after my shower, I swung by my friend Christina’s house to see her new condo and visit with her adorable pittie, Lil Bit!

IMG_0432

The next morning I treated my co-hosts and mom to brunch at Boulevardier. We had a great time catching up, sharing highlights of the shower and life, and eating great food.

Speaking of delicious food, I munched on some delicious pastries at brunch and then ordered their amazing French Onion soup.

FullSizeRender (16)

After brunch, mom and I headed to Garland (a city a little outside of Dallas) so I could hang out with my Aunt Jackie, my cousins Stephanie (who attended the shower) and Nathan, and Stephanie’s friend. Annsley. I also got to visit a VIP – my dog Chase growing up in Cairo during my teen-aged years. When I was a sophomore in college we moved him from living with my parents and brother in Cairo to living with my aunt in Dallas because 1) I was in Dallas attending college and 2) we were afraid for his safety. (Sadly Egyptians do not like dogs the way Americans do and dropped random poisoned cuts of meat around town to curb the stray dog population). We didn’t want Chase to become a casualty like our first Egyptian dog, Cinder, was.

Chase

Such a sweet old man! He is pushing 15 years of age, and has Dementia and can only see with one eye, but he remembered me!

I don’t think any more words can express how great this past weekend was spending it with my best friends and some family members (human and canine). I am truly a blessed individual and cannot wait to introduce Ava to my “Dallas” family.

Hope everyone has a great day!

QUESTION:

Have you been to a baby shower or ever co-hosted one?

3 Comments

Filed under Travel

3 responses to “Dallas Baby Shower Recap

  1. Pingback: Ava and Dallas Meet | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits -132 | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Point Reyes and Wine Country Trip: Day 1 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

