Tiffany’s Bridal Shower Weekend

Hello!

Sorry I couldn’t stop by yesterday – you know the saying, the day just got away.

—————–

This past weekend I was in New York City to attend my friend Tiffany’s bridal shower on Sunday. One of her friends who lives in Brooklyn, Kali, and I were co-hosting the shower.

My train from D.C. was supposed to get into NYC at 1:40pm, but ended up being more than 2 hours delayed (due to last week’s snow and single-tracking for trains all the way from D.C. to Baltimore, MD. So frustrating!) The original plan was for me to quickly make my way to County for a late brunch with Tiffany and our friend Christina who came from Dallas the night before to attend the shower, but we didn’t let my delay ruin our plans. I did just that – went directly to County from Penn Station, just 2 hours late. 🙂 Being the dolls that Tiffany and Christina are they took my order for “brunch” from the cab and I had an iced tea and Smoked Salmon waiting for me when I finally arrived at the restaurant.

While I was too hungry to snap photos of my delicious meal, we did manage to get a photo of the three of us before we were on our way.

FullSizeRender (4)

Reunited once again!

I really liked the decor of County and while my meal was delicious, the portion sizes didn’t do the price justice. We were all shocked at how small our entree plates were and how expensive these said plates were…

After brunch we walked a few blocks to Eataly since Christina had never been there. As you may remember, Tommy and I ate dinner here the last time both of us were in NYC. We walked around the different food stalls and passed through some of the restaurants. Tiffany bought some lemons from a vendor, while Christina and I got cups of Mint tea from Caffe Lavazza.

After Eataly we walked around the Marimekko store that was right next door for a bit. I was SO tempted to buy an adorable dress for Ava, but I held back. I know I’ll at least be back in June for Tiffany’s wedding so I will have another opportunity! Pretty soon the three of us hopped in a cab to Tiffany’s place and spent the rest of the afternoon back at her apartment lounging, watching Sex and the City, and getting ready to go out for dinner.

I had heard of the restaurant, MAYA, a few weeks before this trip and had suggested we eat here Saturday night. Our friend Karen also joined us for dinner which was a lot of fun. The drinks and food here were delicious (no pictures again, I am afraid).

Because, you know, it's my name.

Because, you know, it’s my name.

The girls got their alcoholic beverages of choice while yours truly enjoyed a mocktail mojito. We also ordered a bowl of homemade guacamole to tie us over before our entrees arrived. The timing of our food was the only thing we had a complaint about – our dinners took a long time to get to us. We weren’t sure if that was our waiter’s fault or the cook’s fault, but in any event once the food arrived we were happy. My steak tacos were YUM! I will also note that dinner cost less than brunch. YUP.

There is always time for a group photo!

There is always time for a group photo!

After dinner we all parted our respective ways – Christina and I headed back to Tiffany’s with her and Karen went on to meet her husband and some of their other friends at a bar. The three of us decided to call it a semi-early night since we had a big agenda item to do the next day!

On Sunday our morning was pretty leisurely as we “slept in” until about 8:30am (we did spring forward an hour after all), had tea over more chit-chatting, and did some more lounging and took our time getting ready to head to Tiffany’s bridal shower in Brooklyn.

IMG_0466

Tiffany’s pug, Lola, loved sitting on this one particular sofa pillow.

IMG_0467

We couldn’t forget about her other pug, Bentley!

Pretty soon it was time to take the subway to Kali’s apartment. As a co-host I had told her weeks ago I would come an hour or so early to help her finish setting up. As the non-local co-host I was in charge of the bridal shower invitations (choosing, ordering, sending, and tracking RSVPS) some decorations, and the games!

I will just say this, Kali did an amazing job hosting the shower at her house. I barely had to do anything decorations-wise.

FullSizeRender (1)

The beautiful spread. My “decor touches” if you will, were the purple and gray place settings you see under some dishes on this table.

She had set up a DIY Mimosa Bar too.

She had set up a DIY Mimosa Bar too.

The games I settled on us playing were 1) Guess Who Brought What Lingerie (the theme of Tiffany’s bridal shower was “lingerie” and 2) The Newly Wed Game, where someone sends a list of questions to the groom-to-be regarding him, his bride, and their relationship prior to playing the game with the bride-to-be. The fun part is seeing how many times her answers match her fiance’s! Both games were a lot of fun to play. I think Tiffany really enjoyed the Newly Wed game and seeing what answers her fiance, Chris, gave to me.

Tiffany's loot!

Tiffany’s loot!

For what it’s worth, these are the questions I had Chris answer for the Newly Wed game:

QUESTIONS ABOUT CHRIS:
What’s your favorite food?
What’s your least favorite food?
What’s your “drink”?
Where would you go on vacation tomorrow, if money/weather were no object?
What’s the best meal you’ve cooked for your significant other?
Are you a city mouse or country mouse?
What’s your favorite restaurant?
Which three things would you bring to a desert island?
What’s your most annoying habit?
Are you a morning person or a night owl?
What’s your favorite movie?
What’s your favorite book?
If your partner were to throw out one piece of your clothing, what would it be?
Describe your dream house.
What’s your irrational fear?
What’s your guilty pleasure?
Which movie do you quote most from?
What do you love most about her family?

QUESTIONS ABOUT TIFFANY:
What’s her favorite food?
What’s her least favorite food?
What’s her “drink”?
Where would she go on vacation tomorrow, if money/weather were no object?
What’s the best meal she has cooked for you?
Is she a city mouse or country mouse?
What’s her favorite restaurant in NYC?
Which three things would she bring to a desert island?
What’s her most annoying habit?
Is she a morning person or a night owl?
What’s her favorite movie?
What’s her favorite book?
Describe her dream house.
What’s her irrational fear?
What’s her guilty pleasure?
Which movie does she most quote from?
What does she love most about your family?
What does your family love most about her?

QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR RELATIONSHIP:
Where was your first date?
Where was your first kiss?
Where was your second date?
When did you realize you were in love with her?
Who first said, “I love you”?
Who’s first to apologize after an argument?
What are your pet names for each other?
How many children would you like to have? And her?
What’s your favorite thing about her?

After the games were played there was time for a lot of picture-taking!

IMG_0472

Tiffany, Christina and me! (Also known as my “little sisters” from our good ‘ole’ Gamma Phi Beta days).

IMG_0473

The three of us with our friend Celeste, who also went to SMU with us and was a Gamma Phi Beta as well.

IMG_0474

Karen. Tiffany, and Christina.

Soon enough we were saying our good-byes as we had to head back to Tiffany’s apartment to make sure Christina made her flight back to Dallas later that evening.

We made sure to add one more "lounge time" in before Christina left. (Yes that is me in my pjs...)

We made sure to add one more “lounge time” in before Christina left. (Yes that is me in my pjs…)

I was staying in NYC that night because I had several donor meetings the next day so Tiffany and I took advantage of this time together and had dinner at Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill in the 6 Columbus Hotel, which is where I was staying that night. Another good meal!

A great weekend all around! So happy and excited to celebrate Tiffany on her way to becoming Mrs. Orcutt!

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Tiffany’s Bridal Shower Weekend

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 113 | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Ava Meets the Big Apple | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

