Brunching at the Beach

For my birthday this year I decided to couple it with an “introduction party” if you will for Ava. The email invite was billed as “Come Meet Baby Ava…and wish Maya a belated birthday”! Since my birthday weekend was only about a month and a half after I had given birth I wanted this get-together to be as low key as possible. How did we do this?

  • We decided to have brunch at our house so people could come to us and we could stay put.
  • We had the brunch lasting for 2 hours.
  • Instead of my cooking all the food (as I would normally do for anything else hosted at my house), I decided to get everything catered except the drinks. Not only was I concerned I wouldn’t have the stamina to do all the cooking, I wasn’t sure I would even have the time with Ava taking up 98% of my time. 🙂

Since I wasn’t cooking up a storm, I wanted to have one thing to make/create, if you will. So what did make? A Sangria Bar!

IMG_0608

I also made sure there were mimosas, water, and diet coke available.

IMG_0609

The brunch spread included:

IMG_0607

IMG_0606

IMG_0605

As well as a fennel salad, sausage, and eggs.

I had a mix of friends and co-workers come by:

IMG_0613

IMG_0623

IMG_0615

Daddy giving Ava a feeding during the party.

Daddy giving Ava a feeding during the party.

Ava had friends stop by (a neighbor and someone we met at our Breastfeeding Support Group)!

IMG_0617

IMG_0630

It was a very successful party to say the least. Tommy and I had so much fun introducing Ava to folks and I had a great time catching up with friends I hadn’t seen since I had given birth. Little Ms. Ava was also very well-behaved. 🙂

IMG_0626

IMG_0624

Someone was exhausted after the last guests left!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Chesapeake Beach

Leave a Reply

