Friendsgiving Recap

So remember when I first promised you this recap? Here it is! 🙂

Last year on November 21st, I hosted a Friendsgiving for No Kid Hungry.  My organization, Share Our Strength, decided to test out a fundraising platform based on the popularity of people doing “Friendsgivings” either in conjunction with or in lieu of Thanksgiving with family members (either because of geography, the inability to go back home, etc). How does one raise funds for a great cause I initially wondered…well, there are many ways!

I decided to invite a select group of 20-25 people + significant others and families for my event (what I thought would fit comfortably in my house). I asked each person to donate a suggested contribution of $25 to this event. In return they’d not only help in the fight to end childhood hunger, but they’d enjoy a traditional Thanksgiving meal (open house style – so no set time for “dinner”), good company, and amazing swag! (Other cute ideas included making it a kid-friendly event and inviting kids to come over, eat sandwiches and juice, do arts & crafts, and asking for a suggested contribution or asking people to bring food to their event as a potluck + bring a monetary donation).

I found these silverware holder printouts on Pinterest, which I thought were adorable.

IMG_1538

Here was the spread for the event:

Drinks

  • Sangria – I used this recipe
  • Apple Cider
  • Beer
  • Water

 

Appetizers
  • Cheese tray IMG_1542
Greens
  • Small veggie tray
  • Almond and pomegranate salad IMG_1541An overview of the appetizer tableIMG_1539
Main Dishes
  • Turkey & stuffing
  • Mashed potatoes
Bread
  • Pillsbury Original Crescents
Other
  • Corn and tomato casserole
Dessert

Kicking back enjoying the food and company!

Want to hear an interesting tidbit? Our oven decided to stop working the day before we hosted this event. Luckily my mom came to the rescue (as she usually always does) and offered to cook all of the things that needed to be cooked in an oven in her oven which included the TURKEY & stuffing, the bread, and her casserole). Luckily everything was cooked and on time for our Friendsgiving.

My goal for my Friendsgiving event was $500 and I’m proud to say I reached it! Thanks (again) to all who came and/or supported my event! (And brought food too). 🙂

What I wrote on this day in 2015 and 2014.

QUESTION:

Have you ever hosted a Friendsgiving before (for a fundraiser or a non-fundraiser)?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Holidays, Life in Chesapeake Beach, Life in DC

Leave a Reply

