Holiday Party 2015 Recap

Happy Friday everyone!

Let’s keep on with all the recapping from last year shall we? 🙂 (There is only one more after this I promise).

You all know how much I love Christmas and how I LOVE to throw an annual – ish holiday party. Well, this year was no exception. It was a bit bigger than last year’s get together as I wasn’t pregnant (so energy wasn’t a problem) and since we live a lot closer to people now to DC, more people could come.

I did ,however, tailor it to fit the lifestyle of a married couple who recently had a baby. Instead of a late-night party that we have thrown in the past, this was what I called a “Holiday Happy Hour” on a Friday night. Guests (including children) could stop by for a drink or two and snacks either on their way home from work or after stopping at home first. The time frame was 5-8pm so people could also continue on with their Friday night plans after the party (dinner after, a bar, post-party gallivanting, you name it.) It was also a lighter lift on Tommy and my parts are hosts since we had another human being to take care of. The happy hour was a success! Tommy and I couldn’t help but notice that this year’s attendees included a lot of people under the age of two. 🙂

The menu for the happy hour included:

Drinks

  • Hot Chocolate bar
  • Wine
  • Beer
  • Sparkling apple cider
  • Water

Here is what I included in my Hot Chocolate Bar:

  • Swiss Miss instant mix – I made the hot chocolate in a crock pot
  • Crushed candy canes
  • Mini marshmallows
  • Caramel bites
  • Chocolate chips
  • Whipped cream
  • Wafer/cinnamon sticks

AppetizersIMG_1665

  • Cheese and charcuterie board
  • Veggie tray w/ ranch dressing
  • Pigs in a blanket
  • Mini quiches
  • Spinach artichoke dip and chips
  • Cupcakes  – which were super cute and delicious! (I had a neighbor make these)
  • Cake pops – which were super cute and delicious! (I had a neighbor make these)IMG_1666

Favors

  • Candy canes

Re-installing our annual White Elephant Gift Exchange!

IMG_1669

Thanks to everyone who came!

What I wrote on this day in 2014 and in 2013.

Leave a comment

Filed under Holidays, Life in DC

Leave a Reply

