1st Bee Day Inspriation!

Happy Monday everyone!

Hope you all had a good weekend. A couple of our weekend highlights are below.

On Saturday afternoon the Comeau clan (minus Violet) headed over to our friends, Miki and Chris’s, house for several reasons: 1) for Ava and their son Zach to have a little play date and 2) to taste-test a couple sweet treats that Tammy will be making for Ava’s upcoming FIRST birthday party (more on that later!) 3) to eat a Good Stuff Eatery lunch together because, why not? 4) So Christina could finally meet Zach! It was a very fun and lively afternoon indeed!

FullSizeRender

On Sunday afternoon we headed to Union Market to meet some friends, shop, and eat!

IMG_2276

And now lets get to the subject of the post:

It’s so hard to believe, but 2 months from tomorrow Ava will be turning 1! Tommy and I cannot believe how fast time has flown. It truly seems like just yesterday we were heading to the hospital to meet her…le sigh.

Even though her birthday, May 1, (but we’re actually having it the Saturday before on April 30th to accommodate out-of-town guests ) is still a few months away, I couldn’t help but start planning this special party for our special little lady. Here are a few ideas and inspiration ideas I am thinking of.

The theme of the party is going to be a Bumble Bee theme since we call Ava our little Mini Bee. (My mom started this since Ava’s mom – me – is the original “Maya the Bee”).

Here are the invitations that I ordered from Etsy.

IMG_2166

Here are some pins I have collected from Pinterest for ideas.

Adorable Baby Bumble Bee Party // Hostess with the ill save this one for when I have a little girl... My Baby B :-):

Bumble bee themed party...@Alicia T T T T Boudreau   I think I found the theme for your next birthday!:

Bumble Bee themed birthday party via Kara's Party Ideas | The Place for ALL Things Party! KarasPartyIdeas.com #bumblebeeparty (2):

Since the party is right during lunch time we’ll be serving a catered lunch. I am leaning towards a Greek/Mediterranean spread and I’m looking at Cava Mezze or Kapnos to prepare the lunch.

There will also be a Mimosa Bar + non-alcoholic drinks like lemonade and iced tea.

Shop Setting Up A Mimosa Bar DIY Inspiration Idea from SmartyHadAParty.com:

Photo credit: Pinterest

As mentioned above Tammy will be making Ava’s smash cake and cupcakes for the guests to enjoy!

For activities to do during the party (adult and kids) I’m hoping the weather will be nice so we can have the party spill out into our backyard and have folks play corn hole and have the kids hit around a bee pinata I just bought.

For decorations I’m going to keep it pretty simple with fresh flowers (most likely sunflowers and hydrangeas), some photo collages, and utilizing most of the “memoria-bee-lia” my mom has bought me over the years. 🙂

I can’t wait to post photos and a recap of how the party goes in a couple of months! I cannot promise you there won’t be tears though…

Have a great rest of the day!

2 Comments

Filed under Life in DC

2 responses to “1st Bee Day Inspriation!

  1. Pingback: Prepping for Guests | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: ONE | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

