Impromptu Mother/Daughter Trip to New York!

Happy Friday folks!

I must say I’m surprised at how well I am functioning today after only getting about 3 hours of sleep “last night”. My mom and I decided to take a quick overnight trip (2 days) to the Big Apple and I was responsible for driving us home last night since mom drove us there on Wednesday morning after Ava left to see her nanny.

See our trip recap below:

When everything was said and done, we were officially on the road by 8:15am Wednesday and we arrived in New York around 12:30pm. After we had checked in, had the concierge keep our bags until our room was available at 3pm, and had gotten some refreshments we were on the move.

We decided to walk 20 minutes to the Marimekko Flagship Store. Mom and I both love everything this Finnish design and fashion company does. They specialize in women and children’s clothing, as well as home goods. It was a miracle that I was able to walk out of the store without purchasing something,  but mom made a super cute and tiny purchase for my friend Tiffany’s soon-to-be-here baby – who we were seeing for dinner that night! Speaking of Marimekko, I am so excited about their Target collaboration out on April 17th!!!

After we were done shopping, we decided to pop into Eataly next door for some fuel. As you know, I’m no stranger to Eataly (here and here), but mom had never been here so I thought it would be fun to bring her here.

We decided to snack on some wine (me) , cheese, crackers and a salad.

IMG_2612

A glass of Rose? Don’t mind if I do!

After Eataly, we hopped in a cab to the TKTS Broadway Theater ticket booth to see if we could score some discounted Broadway tickets for the next afternoon. Unfortunately, the timing didn’t work out this time. But we do know we want to see “An American in Paris” the next time we are there. 🙂

We then stopped at the Sanrio store in Times Square so I could pick up a couple birthday presents for two of Ava’s friends. Then we headed back to our hotel to cram in some down time before our next engagement.

This time, I was able to score an incredible deal on our hotel room at the RIU Plaza, a new hotel in Times Square. They have launched their “soft opening” of the hotel for the entire month of April. While the restaurant and room service is not in operation yet, visitors can get hotel rooms for $150 a night! We stayed in a big-room-for-NYC standards with two double beds and a great view, with a clean, simple, and trendy ambiance. The hotel staff – concierge, bellhop, and valet services were wonderful. If you can sneak away to NYC this month STAY AT THE RIU PLAZA. It’s a 4-star hotel with a European sophistication, and I highly doubt rooms will be $150 ever again.

Sooner rather than later, we were back in a cab – refreshed, changed and made up. We were heading to Riverpark to meet an old family friend for drinks and then to have dinner with my friend Tiffany and her mom. It was a lovely night of conversation, laugher, food, and drinks.

IMG_2616

For dinner, three out of four people decided to get the Bigoli (a type of pasta), Grilled Ramps, Charred Bread Crumbs, and Castelmango Cheese entree.

I loved this pasta dish, while my mom thought it was a tad too greasy.

IMG_2619

You might remember that Tiffany is expecting in July, and that my friend Christina and I are throwing her baby shower in June. Doesn’t she look amazing?!

Of course I needed a picture of my Ava before I went to sleep. 🙂

IMG_2613

The next day mom and I slept in and then had a leisurely breakfast at the cutest restaurant across the street from our hotel, Brassiere Athenee. Their breakfast menu was simple and we enjoyed what we ordered.

A little while later we hopped on a NYC tour bus, Open Loop, which is one of the many hop-on, hop-off bus services available for visitors to utilize during their stay. Mom had just gotten chemo two days before and wasn’t up for too much walking. I thought sightseeing on a tour bus would be perfect for her. We decided to tour the Downtown loop since we wanted to hit Chinatown and SoHo. While we got a killer (negotiated) price for the day, if we do this service again, I will probably try another company. The wait times between stops were just too long, while our first (and only) guide was okay, for next couple of buses didn’t have guides – which was supposed to be a feature of this bus tour.

IMG_2624

Anyway, our first stop was Chinatown to run a couple of errands (I wanted to buy new Ramen bowls and mom wanted to buy embroidered slippers for gifts) we decided to eat lunch at Shanghai Cuisine.

From left to right: Hot and Sour soup, Beef Lo Mein, Won Ton Soup. So yummy!

We passed several fish markets in Chinatown.

IMG_2634

We hopped back on the bus and headed to the 9/ll Memorial. I had been here before, but mom hadn’t. No matter how often I come here, my breath will always be taken away thinking how awful and terrible it must have been almost 16 years ago on that day. Just the magnitude of how large the twin towers were is astonishing. We didn’t have time to tour the museum, but we plan to on our next trip.

IMG_2638

We got back on the bus and finished the Downtown loop passing by Murray Hill, Battery Park, drove by the 9/11 Memorial again, and got to see the Hudson River.

IMG_2641

9/11 Memorial.

Once we concluded the bus tour we popped into Bloomingdale’s so I could buy Tommy a little something and then decided to eat at August for dinner. I just thought this was the cutest restaurant. I loved the decor and ambiance and the food was good too!

From left to right: we were given a complimentary Amuse Bouche, along with bread, beef butter and lemon yogurt, and olives to enjoy. Mom and I each ordered a glass of wine and then I had the salmon for dinner. Perfecto.

Soon we found ourselves back in the car, caffeine at the ready. I was making amazing time…until we got stuck in hour-long traffic in DELAWARE. We didn’t get back to my house until 2:30am, hence my lack of sleep last night.

Hey, it was worth it!

Recap List:

  • Hotel: RIU Plaza
  • Ate at: Eataly, Riverpark, Brasierre Athenee, Shanghai Cuisine, and August
  • Activities: Open Loop Bus Tour, shopped in Chinatown and at Marimekko, Sanrio

Hope you have a great weekend.

What I wrote on this day in 2013, 2014, and 2015.

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Impromptu Mother/Daughter Trip to New York!

  1. Pingback: Marimekko Purchases | Bee in DC

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page for a second time.

Leave a Reply

