Point Reyes and Wine Country Trip: Day 2

The next day, Friday, began quite early for Tommy, Ava, mom and me.

Little Miss was up at 4am (hey, it was 7am on the East Coast – her normal wake-up time). Since we were all still kind of on East Coast time ourselves it wasn’t too difficult getting a jump start to our morning. We fed Ava, bottle and solid food, watched her play with her toys in the huge living room and I was able to snap these photos from the balcony. And of course there was coffee involved!

IMG_2845

IMG_2844

A little while later it was time for mom, Katie, our friend Elaine (who had come over to the house with her husband, Ian, once they arrived in Point Reyes), and me to say good-bye to Tommy and Ava. We had a very important lunch date to attend – I was hosting a ladies brunch for Sarah at one of her favorite restaurants in the Point Reyes area, Nick’s Cove!

I loved planning this bridal lunch for Sarah because I wanted to do something special for her since she had done so many things for me with my wedding (almost) 5 years ago and in preparation for Ava last year. She had also done countless things for her other friends as well in support of their weddings, kids, birthdays, you name it. It was time to just celebrate the incredible lady she is!

I had a little difficulty initially getting the lunch on the books with Nick’s Cove (apparently there aren’t that many Type A planners out in Point Reyes!, and they were going through some management changes), but once my main point of contact, Lisa, and I had established communication it was smooth sailing. I highly recommend Nick’s as a place to just grab a bite to eat or have a private event at. Their food is incredible and their customer service is top-notch. We were all treated liked queens!

FullSizeRender (2)

The invitation for the lunch. As you may remember, my nickname for Sarah since college has been “Crab” so there was a subtle crab theme to the lunch!

IMG_2846

I had gone to Michaels to find crab stickers which I used for the place cards. I had mentioned the crab theme to Lisa and she was so cute and added a crab logo to the special alcoholic drink menu she and I put together for the lunch!

IMG_2847

One of the cocktails was the Aviation. Not only was it good, but STRONG!

The food menu for the lunch was as follows:

Appetizers

  • Dungeness Crab Mac n Cheese
  • Rossotti Ranch Goat Meatballs
  • Seared Dayboat Scallops

First Course

  • Spinach Salad

Mains (folks had a choice of)

  • Crab Roll or
  • Vegetarian Risotto or
  • Prawn enchilada

Yours truly and the bride ordered the Crab Roll!

IMG_2848

All 15 ladies left stuffed and slightly buzzed. I’m amazed we were able to pose for pictures after the lunch on the restaurant’s pier. 😉

IMG_2850

IMG_2868

Friends for 15 years. Can’t believe.

After the lunch was some much needed down time before the Beach Bonfire Rehearsal “Dinner” at Limantour Beach, one of the many beaches in Point Reyes. The scenery couldn’t have been more beautiful, nor the weather more gorgeous.

IMG_2865

Ava and her new friend, Anna, (Sarah’s niece) had a ball playing in the sand.

IMG_2866

IMG_2867

Tommy and my mom were sweet to take Ava back to our house once she started getting cranky (we kept her up a little later than normal because I wanted her to go to the beach) so I could enjoy the evening with the bride, Katie, Elaine, and everyone else.

It was a perfect day. Next up, wedding day!!!!

What I wrote on this day in 2013 and 2014.

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Point Reyes and Wine Country Trip: Day 2

  1. This looks like such a great time! And oh my goodness, that menu sounds amazing!

    Erin, Attention to Darling
    http://www.attentiontodarling.com

  2. Erin, it was! Whenever you all get to wine country, if you have time stop in Point Reyes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

