Point Reyes and Wine Country Trip: Day 6

And so we have come to our last day on vacation. 😦 Sad as that was, on the bright side it was a fantastic day!

Our morning began with another morning run for Tommy and me while mom watched Ava.Once we got home we finished packing and tidying up the place before we were set to sign out of the house.

Tommy, Ava, mom and pals stopped by Oxbow Public Market to look around and to grab lunch before going on our respective ways.

IMG_2966

While Oxbow was nice, it was kind of underwhelming for me. I think it’s because I thought the market would be bigger and that a lot of it would be outside – that’s the impression I got after I had read more about it before we came here. Don’t get me wrong, the shops and food options housed in this space were lovely and fine, I just thought there would be more. Oxbow reminded me a lot of Union Market in DC. And if I had to choose which one I liked better, it would be Union Market.

Nonetheless we all enjoyed our time here. We each chose different eatery options for lunch and then all ordered our versions of the perfect coffee “pick-me-up” at Ritual Coffee Roasters and a sweet treat at Kara’s Cupcakes.

For lunch I was craving sushi which I got at Eiko’s.

IMG_2965

Tommy decided to try tacos at C Casa.

IMG_2964

After lunch mom and pals headed to San Jose (mom was staying with them for a couple of days before heading to Monterrey), while Tommy, Ava, and I headed back to San Francisco to spend the day there before our red-eye flight back to D.C.

As you can see we took advantage of the beautiful (80 degrees and sunny) weather and amazing little beaches and walking trails by the Golden Gate Bridge!

IMG_2967IMG_2970IMG_2977

IMG_2994IMG_3004

We spent about 3 hours here before we headed to meet my good college friends Mandy and Tust for dinner before we went to the airport.

We met them at Hong Kong Flower Lounge which was recommended to me by a D.C. friend that is from the Bay Area. It was the perfect location from the airport, 10 minutes away!

Dinner went by too fast and unfortunately it was time to say good-bye to Mandy, Tust and our California adventure.

For those interested: Ava did pretty well on the flight back home. I decided taking a red-eye flight back would be the best option as Ava would be more prone to sleeping since it was around her bedtime (and it allowed us another full day in Cali). She slept for about 2.5 hours of the 4.5 hour flight. Poor thing just couldn’t get comfortable in Tommy or my arms, but she was quiet and content. The next time we fly to the west coast, I’m pretty sure a red-eye flight will be on the itinerary.

And now we’re all caught up!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

