Ammos

I had the brief pleasure of grabbing dinner with my friend Tiffany last night as I was ending my work trip in NYC and continuing on to Boston later that night.

She suggested eating at Ammos Estiatorio, a Greek seafood restaurant, right by her office. The food was wonderful, though the wine a little strange(!), and the company was fabulous. Wonderful way to end my work day. 🙂

We decided to start off with a glass of wine each. I took my cue from Tiffany who ordered a glass of the Retsina, a white wine from Greece. It was…interesting. It left a weird taste in your mouth after each sip. We both ended up not drinking our entire glasses.

photo (1)

Since we both weren’t famished our anything, we decided to order three appetizers.

First up, we ordered the Pikilia (the dips) – tzatziki, taramasalata, melitzanosalata, htipiti, skordalia.

photo (2)

Followed by the Spanakopita – traditional spinach pie, Dodonis feta, tomato sauce, mint evoo.

photo (3)

And ended with the Dolmades – stuffed Greek grape leaves, rice, dill, evoo.

photo (4)

A little tidbit, for those of you that don’t know this, “EVOO”, stands for extra virgin olive oil.

The food was delicious. I also thought the restaurant itself was gorgeous.

photo

Special thanks to Tiffany for squeezing me in for dinner on a Wednesday night!

photo (5)

For more information on Ammos, go here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a comment