Texas on my mind!

Mi Cocina has come to D.C. ladies and gentlemen! For those of you that don’t know what Mi Cocina is, it is a Dallas-based (that has most recently expanded to the Beltway) Tex-Mex restaurant. All of the dished served here are handmade from scratch using the finest and freshest ingredients. The food here is incredible and the frozen drinks even more so. 🙂

If there is one thing I would have to say D.C. lacks, it is good Tex-Mex. Thankfully Mi Cocina has decided to grace the district with its presence. It is conveniently located near the Friendship Heights metro in Chevy Chase.

A few of my Texas gal pals and I decided to end the week with a happy hour/dinner here earlier this evening. Best decision we could have made!

To start the night of right I ordered a Mambo Taxi, Mi Cocina's signature drink.  The classic frozen margarita featuring Sauza Blanco tequila with Mi Cocina house-made Sangria

To start the night of right I ordered a Mambo Taxi, Mi Cocina’s signature drink.
The classic frozen margarita featuring Sauza Blanco tequila with Mi Cocina house-made Sangria.

The four of us noshed on chips, salsa and yummy queso while we decided what we wanted for dinner.

Queso Blanco.

Queso Blanco.

For dinner, I went with an oldie but goodie.

Sunset Beef Enchiladas. Two to an order served with Rice and Beans.

Sunset Beef Enchiladas.
Two to an order served with Rice and Beans.

Happy (Texan) girls! For those that couldn’t make this trip, next time – there will be a next time. 🙂

So stuffed!

So stuffed!

One thing that Mi Cocina does at this location (I don’t remember this at the Dallas locations), which can either be a good or bad thing depending on your mood and viewpoint, is they list the calorie count for everything on their menu. I can’t speak for the other ladies, but seeing how many calories I was consuming did influence my ordering decisions a little bit. For instance I decided to go with the 700 calorie enchilada dish, as opposed to a different 1100 calorie entrée…

If you have never been to a Mi Cocina restaurant before I strongly encourage you to go. If you have, go back!

Have a wonderful weekend!

3 Comments

Filed under Eating out in DC

3 responses to “Texas on my mind!

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 55 | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Plaza Mexico | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits | Bee in DC

Leave a comment